The Declaration of “A Poor Methodist Woman”

I do not know

when I have had happier times

in my soul

than when I have been sitting at work,

with nothing before me

but a candle and a white cloth,

and hearing no sound

but that of my own breath;

with God in my soul

and heaven in my eye.

I rejoice in being exactly what I am

– a creature capable of loving God,

and who, as long as God lives,

must be happy.

I get up

and look a while out the window.

I gaze at the moon and stars,

the work of an Almighty Hand.

I think of the grandeur of the universe

and then sit down

and think myself

one of the happiest beings in it.

-A Poor Methodist Woman

Image provided  by Google images “peaceful meadow”

This entry was published on September 27, 2012 at 5:20 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “The Declaration of “A Poor Methodist Woman”

  1. always love reading your post. inspires me to love God and live life the way it should be
    =)

  2. Hehe I’m so glad!! It reminded me of how I ought to live and rejoice 😀

Leave a comment