Happy Birthday, Dad!

Today is my dad’s birthday! And so, I would like to spend some time thanking God for demonstrating His grace to me in blessing me with a father I don’t deserve. 🙂

Let another praise you, and not your own mouth;
A stranger, and not your own lips. Proverbs 27:2

10. My dad is a man of self-control. In every memory I have of him, nothing comes to mind of his ever being angry. Disappointed, particularly when his daughter (me) was rebellious? Yes. But furious or uncontrollably mad? Not once. Any unkind word shot at me for ill? No. Mind you, my dad is not perfect. No person is. But in this respect, I admire his self-control in word and deed. He is also humble, and not ashamed to ask for forgiveness. His life reflects that of a man who has been saved by grace, and is consumed every moment with the desire to honor the God who loves him so.

25 Everyone who competes in the games exercises self-control in all things. They then do it to receive a perishable wreath, but we an imperishable. 1 Corinthians 9:25

My dad is going to receive an imperishable wreath, and I believe it will be a handsome one!

9. My dad is a man of gentleness. About ten years ago, he taught me and my sister how to ride a bike, and was so patient with me! I was such a scaredy-cat, frightened with the concept of taking my feet off the ground when I didn’t have to! And yet, my dad never complained or got rough because of my continued hesitation. He encouraged me with love, and guess what? I can ride a bike now! (Not as well as I did perhaps, but I know how to ride one 🙂 )I still remember how panicked I felt when I found out he had let go of the bike seat one day, but what an exhilarating experience it was, and one I treasure.

By God’s grace, my dad is growing in a manner worthy of the calling…

2 with all humility and gentleness, with patience, showing tolerance for one another in love,… Ephesians 4:2

It shows in the big and small things.

8. My dad is a man of faithfulness. He knows how to prioritize, understands what it means to live with an eternal perspective. His faithfulness in leading family worship, preparing us on Saturday nights to go to church on Sunday mornings, and his dedicated serving of the church body amaze me. He does not shirk from his responsibilities, and always strives to do the best he can, whatever it is and wherever God has placed him.

44 For each tree is known by its own fruit. For men do not gather figs from thorns, nor do they pick grapes from a briar bush. Luke 6:44

He faithfully bears good fruit. He knows and continues learning what it means to be a godly man, and he strives knowing he can pray and trust God to provide him the grace to grow in maturity!

7. My dad is a man of goodness. He is morally and spiritually excellent. I see it in the fruit he bears, his kindness and consideration for others, his life. My dad actively seeks to love and serve others. The Gospel is never far from his mind, and wow, is it an encouragement to see!

9 Let us not lose heart in doing good, for in due time we will reap if we do not grow weary. Galatians 6:9
God has sustained him thus far, and will until He takes him home.


6. My dad is a man of
kindness. Do you know how I know? I was an undeniably disobedient, selfish child! And I was, every time, consistently and lovingly disciplined. I would be told why what I did was wrong, and what I needed to face as a consequence of my actions. And I learned that even though I cried or begged, I would have to face what I had done.

He who withholds his rod hates his son

But he who loves him disciplines him diligently. Proverbs 13:24

And I knew my dad loved me because of it. Afterwards, he would always hug me and tell me he loved me. Without fail, he would tell me he did it out of love, that he needed to discipline me because God commanded him to out of love.
Foolishness is bound up in the heart of a child;
The rod of discipline will remove it far from him. Proverbs 22:15
Praise the Lord, I believe God honored my dad’s faithful obedience to His Word. I thank my dad and even more my Father who cares so much for my soul that He commands what is best, despite my feelings about it at that moment. 🙂

5. My dad is a man of patience. He is also a man whose life is filled with prayer. He has prayed for me every day of my life, as well as for my sister, my family, etc. His prayer list notebook is worn and tattered, continuing to be filled with reminders to pray not only for his family, but the world and His kingdom’s work.

11 We count those blessed who endured. You have heard of the endurance of Job and have seen the outcome of the Lord’s dealings, that the Lord is full of compassion and is merciful. James 5:11
4. My dad is a man of peace. Life hasn’t been picture-perfect. That only exists in the movies. But it’s inspiring to see my dad persistently exhibiting that inner calm that stems from his relationship with Christ.

Commit your works to the LORD
And your plans will be established. Proverbs 16:3

I have never seen him “uprooted” by any storm or trial. In everything, my dad prays, and rejoices in his salvation (1 Thessalonians 5:16-18) . He does not question God or demand to know everything. He simply trusts and obeys. His confidence – in God’s sovereignty and Christ’s work on the cross, in God’s lovingkindness and mercy, in His promises for His children – does not waver. He stands on the firm foundation of Christ.

8 For he will be like a tree planted by the water,
That extends its roots by a stream And will not fear when the heat comes;
But its leaves will be green, And it will not be anxious in a year of drought
Nor cease to yield fruit. Jeremiah 17:8
3. My dad is a man of joy. Everyone who meets my dad seems to comment about how nice he is. And it’s true! His joy in the Lord overflows into his relationship with his family, church body, friends, acquaintances. I look forward to seeing him and talking to him not just because I love him, but also because I know he finds utter satisfaction in the eternal God. His corny jokes make us laugh, but it is his joy that always shows, pointing unceasingly to Christ. It helps me to understand more the joy that is to come when Christ returns!
13 Now may the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit. Romans 15:13
2. My dad is a man of love.

29 Jesus answered, “The foremost is, ‘HEAR, O ISRAEL! THE LORD OUR GOD IS ONE LORD; 30 AND YOU SHALL LOVE THE LORD YOURGOD WITH ALL YOUR HEART, AND WITH ALL YOUR SOUL, AND WITH ALL YOUR MIND, AND WITH ALL YOUR STRENGTH.’ 31 The second is this, ‘YOU SHALL LOVE YOUR NEIGHBOR AS YOURSELF.’ There is no other commandment greater than these.” Mark 12:29-31
1. My dad is one of the godliest men in my life. I know he isn’t perfect, but it strikes me dumb when I think of how much God has been sanctifying him and loving him for the past (at least) two decades.
Happy birthday, Dad! I love you so so so much. I can’t express how thankful I am that you love the Lord above all else. With your life, you have shown me what a joyful path it is to follow Christ. It hasn’t been easy (I know, especially with me being your daughter), but God is so good!
I could have done some reading or schoolwork during the time it took me to write this. But I don’t regret it at all, because it was time well spent. How?
8 Finally, brethren, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is of good repute, if there is any excellence and if anything worthy of praise, dwell on these things. Philippians 4:8
God’s faithful work in the life of my dad for his entire life is indeed, worthy of praise.
36 For from Him and through Him and to Him are all things.
To Him be the glory forever. Amen. Romans 11:36
Happy birthday, Dad! I love you! And thank You, Lord! I know I don’t deserve anything in this life but Your holy wrath against my numerous sins, but thank You for just overwhelming me with so much grace! Every good and perfect thing comes from You, and the Gospel is by far the greatest news I have ever heard and will hear!! And even more than that, you gave me my parents! I should do one for my mom this coming Mother’s Day… 🙂

*Inspired by Galatians 5:22-23* 

 

This entry was published on October 29, 2012 at 11:22 pm and is filed under Love. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Dad!

  1. aw so sweet =)
    at first I thought you made a gigantic macaron.

Leave a Reply

