[ Retreating to lessons past ]

Image

Note: the photo above is not one depicting the following post. I forgot to take one, but the beauty of creation in the above picture evokes the same worship of God from me as the quaintness of the landscape you are about to read.

Note: I don’t know why I have the urge to write late in the night when I do write. Hmph. Curious.

I spent two days in a location not my home. The house plopped lazily upon a sprawling, grassy field. Dry bushes sprouted in random patches. Wild rabbits poked about for grub. Cows slowly munched in fenced steel enclosures. Off in the distance, a beautifully rich chocolate brown horse peered about inquisitively from the neighboring house. Ahh, another priceless gift from the Giver of all good things, in Whom there is no shifting shadow!

Inside the house, one could hear the bustle that echoes that of the doings in a beehive. One word to describe it : busy and constant. Okay, make that two words. Spending time in there was lovely, but seeing as I was not needed then, I slipped outside to immerse myself in the beautiful nature abounding.

Unsure of how to best enjoy the scenery, I tried to absorb everything at once. My eyes strained to take in the entire view with my brain frantically trying to keep up and memorize the landscape while at the same time my ears felt like stretching to record the noises of everyday life in this new setting. Too much, eh? It was, for me. 

And so, I quietly stepped down the stairs and finding a suitable place to sit, I sat.

I slowly closed my eyes, making a conscious effort to keep them closed.

I listened. 

At first, the noise level didn’t change; my eyes just got more “shade.”

As I continued to to sit, I let the sounds of the outside world blow around whimsically. And they started making sense, as they settled down from the fury with which I had tried to capture them earlier. The sound of footsteps in the brush caught my attention, and I slowly opened my eyes, surprised to see the dog and its walker perambulating quite a distance away. Shutting my eyes once again, I relaxed, taking in the cool wind and smiling from the light sun that bathed the ground before setting.

A quick rustle, then silence. Another, and then it was all quiet on the western front.

My curiosity awakened, I peeked out to see a young rabbit with a surprisingly bright white tail poking about, foraging. I had yet to see one during the trip, and was quite excited about this one, haha. 

It is fascinating to me, the common knowledge that one sense is heightened when others are “shut off.” And as I rested on that bench, I couldn’t help but smile. My heavenly Father never fails in His promise to “do all things for good to those who love” Him, who are only able to love Him by His grace and His giving of such ability. 

You see, I came face-to-face with an old-learned lesson that I had learned, but one so easily forgotten. We pray, we trust, we wait. And waiting is not an apathetic endeavor. It is, according to a book I read but have currently forgotten [will insert the source if/when I come across it again and have that “AHA!” moment], an active trust in the Lord, trusting in Him with full confidence because we know who He is. When we wait, we need to be patient and be still. 

So often, I find that when I present my requests to God, it is easy to move on and be distracted by so many other things. I leave little time for waiting, because it’s so interesting to be overwhelmed by information. It is like me attempting to brand the landscape into my mind all at once, and by doing so rendered unable to take in anything at all. When I listen closely, things must be sacrificed. I must close my eyes to focus my mind and keep from being tempted to look to other sources for wisdom that are not taken from the Word of God. I must keep my hands close instead of trying to grasp anything and everything that attracts my attention.

I must simply sit quietly and wait patiently. And, I need to listen, being still with reverence before the Holy God, the Maker of the heavens and the earth, the Lord of all creation, to whom belongs all glory and honor and praise. To be able to do so is such a joy in my heart and causes praise to spring out of my mouth! As the Lord faithfully works in me (Phil 1:6), I pray that I will ever more be able to quiet my heart, be still, and unceasingly wonder upon my Lord.

Psalm 46:10 [ESV]

“Be still, and know that I am God. I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth!” 

 

“If 

I cannot catch “the sound of noise of rain” long before the rain falls,

and, going to some hilltop of the spirit,

as near to my God as I can,

have not faith to wait there with my face between my knees,

though six times or sixty times I am told “there is nothing,”

till at last “there arises a little cloud out of the sea,”

then I know nothing of Calvary love.”

                  “If” by Amy Carmichael [p.20]

 

This entry was published on June 19, 2012 at 8:15 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

