Joy Made Complete

O Lord, You work in such wondrous ways

Your Word is ever true, You deserve all praise!

And yet, when I look at sinful old me,

I cannot believe- can too well believe that I could not see.

The old life I for so long held so dear

without thinking the result of fleshly living I would fear-

A rotting, filthy, condemned fool

who thought I could my own life rule-

That the world should turn as I saw fit

And for others, even God’s glory, I cared not a whit.

That is who I was, and who I still would be

if Christ had not died to set me free.

I delighted in my sin, reviled all things true

My life purpose? Whatever it was, to God was lucidly askew.

O Lord, how much You must have been grieved

to see the disgusting offenses and rags I flaunted to You when deceived.

I lived for myself, lusted after things of the flesh-

not once ever thinking to desire Christ’s righteousness.

Father God…

What grace! What marvelous, sweet grace so divine!

To know I no longer need my face hide

from shame and from guilt-

because of the precious blood Your Only Son spilt.

I remember so clearly that time

when Christ’s blood cleansed away all my sinful grime.

No longer to be judged for what I committed,

but to commit my life to the ultimate Judge.

Lord, Your mercies are so great,

and they are new every morning!

No wonder You tell us not to wander,

but rightly call us to rejoicingly sing!

The eternal hope You give burns ever brighter

than the glorious rising of the sun.

And the joy?

What possible thing on earth can compare?

Nothing.

Absolutely nothing.

Of this, I am absolutely certain

Whatever I cannot do, You can.

For I can do nothing apart from You-

it is You who provides strength too!

Thank You, Lord, for graciously creating the heavens and the earth.

Thank you, Christ Jesus, for solving man’s greatest problem and enduring sin’s curse.

Thank You, Holy Spirit, for working in me, too-

so I can become more like Christ and be used in any way You choose!

Your slave and (eternally thankful) adopted daughter,

Jessica

(originally written tuesday, 9.27.2011)

This entry was published on October 17, 2011 at 12:25 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Joy Made Complete

  1. Hi Jessica! Thank you for sharing another beautiful prayer. I can relate to all of them 🙂

    Bible Inspiration…..
    (2 Conrinthians 1: 2-4) Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God.

    (Hebrews 4: 15,16) For we do not have a high priest who is unable to empathize with our weaknesses, but we have one who has been tempted in every way, just as we are—yet he did not sin. Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.

    (Galatians 5: 23-25) Those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires. Since we live by the Spirit, let us keep in step with the Spirit.

    (Hebrews 12: 1-3) Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. Consider him who endured such opposition from sinners, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.

Leave a Reply

