Reflections on Beauty…

1. This piece was written on February 23, 2011 .

2. I do not remember how these thoughts came into my head, but I found it encouraging and yet another amazing reason to give thanks to an all-knowing, perfectly loving God.

February 23, 2011- [edited to be more coherent]

          I am thankful because I am not beautiful the way the world defines beauty.

I think it should be yet another hindrance from seeing the true, everlasting beauty of the cross. I am not saying being beautiful is bad- the Lord delights in beauty! It takes on different forms and different conceptions, and is not condemned. However, physical beauty is so valued by the world that I feel I would be more tempted to fall into sin if I had been born exquisitely lovely. I am thankful to not have this distraction, and am so excited to cultivate a beauty of the heart! I desire to live a beautiful life of perseverance, love, and  ever-growing Christ-likeness. It is this I yearn to present to the Lord as an offering, however humble, in thankfulness for all He did for undeserving me.

To live solely to make myself beautiful is a matter of pride- of self-centered living for the fulfillment of my own desires. I am not saying cosmetics and associated things are bad in themselves. Aptly used, they can enhance what God has given to each individual. They do, however, present the danger of becoming more than some minor part of my life, or that of anyone else’s for that matter. The desire to “be pretty” can easily overwhelm a girl! That’s why I am thankful, I suppose, that I am not a glamorous person.

I desire to live a beautiful life, living every moment for God’s glory, in praise and thankfulness of all He has done for me. The cross is so much more beautiful than anything of this world- let me always remember that! Our Lord is good in every possible way and I am so thankful He blessed me with being average so I can direct my full attention to Him and not on myself! Romans 11:36: For from Him and through Him and to Him are all things. To Him be the glory forever. Amen.

Thank You, Lord!

-Jessica

          Beauty is such an interesting concept, is it not? How much more worth it it is to be beautiful in the eyes of the perfect, eternal God than in the eyes of fickle, sinful man! P.S. Not to say someone should not make any effort at all- that would not be honoring to the Lord as well in taking care of whatever God has blessed us with! But that’s another story, for another time.

Charm is deceitful and beauty is vain, but a woman who fears the Lord, she shall be praised.

                                                                                                                       – Proverbs 31:30

This entry was published on May 17, 2011 at 10:59 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Reflections on Beauty…

  1. I totally agree! As a kid I remember thanking God that He did not make me so beautiful so that people would not love me for how I looked but for who I am.

  2. haha you guys are cute. secretly i think you’re beautiful both outer and inner, but if it stumbles you then… nopeee. you’re super strange looking. =P

    but great thoughts on where our focus should be. thanks!

Leave a Reply

