Perfect Love Casts Out Fear

“There is no fear in love; but perfect love casts out fear, because fear involves punishment, and the one who fears is not perfected in love. We love, because He first loved us.”
– 1 John 4:18-19.

I remember reading and reflecting on this idea a few years ago. Confused, I thought,”How can we not fear a God who is perfect to the infinite degree and punishes sin?” I realize now that my idea of God back then was not quite right. The gospel’s true, incomprehensible beauty had not yet been revealed to me. Now, I stand (no, I’m sitting now, it’s just that amazing- it makes me weak in the knees!) just amazed at being able to slowly see it more and more because of God’s grace. It also humbles me, knowing I could not love and would not have it in my sinful nature to love had it not been God who first reached down to me.

I don’t deserve God’s grace. I truly don’t. I am a depraved sinner who deserves every bit to go to hell because of my failure to meet God’s perfect standard (Matthew 5:48). It’s pride that makes me think that I can do things on my own, that I have strength to call my own and that my life is my own to live. Christ didn’t die for you or me for us to live out our selfish ambitions. He knows our hearts, and I earnestly pray that I can lay down my life and pride in every moment so that in my life, He will be glorified. Not to say that it’s easy, I struggle with it every day, and it’s so easy to forget my purpose in glorifying God in order to satisfy my earthly ambitions. But honestly, how incredible is it that God would send His only Son to live the perfect life, die the perfect death that paid for our ransom from our slavery to sin and deserved eternity in hell, and then extend that gift to us?!?! It just takes my breath away.

I pray my love for the Lord will continue to grow with a passion that takes over every facet of my life! To try to live every day for God and in remembrance of His amazing love for me is my ultimate goal. He deserves nothing but the best, and although it’s inevitable that I will sin and fall short of the glory of God (too many times!), I am so thankful that He provides me the strength to get up and keep walking with Him! I heard this somewhere (I forget where, maybe a song? ^^”): Nothing can add or take away from God’s glory! How great is our God!

Let us all run the good race together! 🙂
-Jessica

Written: Thursday, 24 February, 2011

This entry was published on March 22, 2011 at 1:38 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

